a morning at the art museum

art 13

Today is the feast day of my patron saint, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton. We like to do something special to celebrate on our feast days, so when Ryan asked a couple days ago what I wanted to do on Saturday, without missing a beat, I exclaimed, “the art museum!”

Since the Wichita Art Museum is free on Saturday, we’ve been meaning to go for months, but something else always seems to come up. This place holds some dear memories for us, because it was the location of our first not-just-hanging-out-as friends, “real” date. We awkwardly held sweaty hands and everything.

Anyway, we’ve been thinking that Philomena might be old enough to enjoy it, and we were right. She was delighted by the random items she was able to identify in the paintings, “horse!” “church!” “grapes!” We even by-passed the admittedly very cool kids area [Mommy and Daddy are paranoid about germs this time of year. I know. Worst parents ever.] If you’ve ever been to the WAM, then you can probably guess her favorite part: walking on the “floor” of beautiful blown-glass. Mena seriously couldn’t get enough.

Their current featured traveling exhibit “Vital Signs” was awful, but everything else made up for it. They even have a “Downton Abbey”-inspired exhibit, the idea of which made me gag and dramatically roll my eyes. But! I actually liked their selections for the exhibition, so I excused the corny concept.

I’d thought I’d share a few pictures, but I don’t have much to say beyond that [and really, let’s be honest, pictures are the best part of blogs].

Happy Saturday.


art 2art 1art 3art 4art 5art 6art 9art 7art 10art 14art 11

art 15

8 thoughts on “a morning at the art museum

  1. The pictures on this post were so good. My only wish is that you would have taken pictures of yourselves imitating the various paintings. You totally could have done it in the picture of you and Mena standing next to the painting of the mom holding the baby.

  2. Sounds like a fun day. love the WAM! We haven’t been there in a loooong time though. Alaina and I used to go to the ArtStart together. That was a lot of fun. I bet Mena would like that a lot soon.

Leave a Reply

