recipe: pumpkin pie “green” smoothie {Tasty Thursday}

pumpkin pie "green" smoothie

In the morning, after I’ve changed the ridiculous-bundle-of-energy-when-she-first-wakes-up toddler’s diaper and after my somniferous haze has slightly lifted, our conversation usually goes like this:

Me: Do you want to go downstairs for breakfast?

P: Yeah!

Me: What do you want to eat?

P: Cor! Cor! Cor! [translation: corn. Her new culinary obsession.]

Me: Okay, fine, you can have some corn, but what else do you want?

P: Cor! Cor!

Me: Yes, yes. You can have some corn. Would you like a smoothie too?

P: Ssssooo! Ssssooo! [translation: smoothie]

Me: Great! Who’s going to put the strawberries in the blender?

P: Pssss! [translation: Philomena. Explanation of this oddity here.]

Me: Who’s going to put in the banana?

P: Pssss!

Me: Who’s going to put in the spinach?

P: Pssss!

Me: Who’s going to pour in the milk?

P: Mama!

And so begins our day.

I don’t know why I told you all of that…but, the point is little people love their routines, and smoothies are part of ours. And corn too, of course…but, I didn’t think you would need detailed directions on how I prepare her frozen corn. [Okay, okay. I run hot water over it until it’s unfrozen. So there.]

Anyway, as I said before, I am completely cliche and faaaaaaar from unique in my love for pumpkin, the king of autumn foods.

The other morning I broke from our usual smoothie routine and attempted a pumpkin one. It was delicious! And healthy! And easy!

I thought you might like the recipe. You know, to eat after your morning bowl of corn.

mena with pumpkin smoothie

===

Pumpkin Pie “Green” Smoothie

recipe adapted from Healthful Pursuit

Ingredients

1 cup milk of choice* [I used homemade almond milk, and it was fantastic.]

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1/2 of a banana

2 teaspoons maple syrup

1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice

a handful of spinach* [maybe 3/4 cup?]

a handful of ice

optional– 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method

1. Put all ingredients in the blender and blend on high until smooth. Taste. Add a little more maple syrup or pumpkin spice, if necessary.

* Recipe notes: This makes a fairly thin consistency, so if you prefer your smoothies thicker, just use less milk and/or more ice. Also, the spinach is totally optional; however, it really doesn’t affect the pumpkin flavor, and it adds lots of nutrients!

5 thoughts on “recipe: pumpkin pie “green” smoothie {Tasty Thursday}

  1. I like baked pumpkin recipes but haven’t tried it in a smoothie. I might give this a whirl sometime.
    P.s. I like the toddler conversion accompaniment.
    P.p.s. I like the picture, especially the pretty paper/placemat?

  2. Pingback: 5 Favorites ~ Pumpkin Recipes! |

Leave a Reply

