if only

One of my favorite quotations of all time went a little Catholic-viral on the Facebook today. Most likely because today is the feast day of the author, St. Teresa of Avila.

nothing disturb

I’ve been a fan of these words since I was in high school. I wrote them inside my order-taking-pad when I was a waitress in college and on the front cover of my journal when I was a volunteer in Belize. I even taped this quote to my computer screen when I was a teacher.

However, today I began to think and pray about how different my life would be if I actually followed these lines…the utter joy, the peaceful surrender that would ensue.

If only I took to heart the startling reality that, indeed, God alone is enough.

3 thoughts on “if only

Leave a Reply

