instagram dump {day 2 of blogging challenge}

I am at the second day of a hopefully [hopefully] seven-day writing streak for the blogging challenge.

And for day dos, what is even more lame than posting a meal plan?

Oh, how about I just dump all the pictures on my cellphone here. Sound good?

What follows are the pictures I’ve put on instagram the past month or so…yes, I realize I already show you them in that nice little widget to the right.

So really, this post is entirely useless. So be it.

However, I did provide some mediocre captions. I’m a martyr, I know.

Our "office" is another name for our "laundry room." Therefore, when I spend *just one minute* switching out loads, Philomena always manages to pull down at least two shelves of books onto the floor. Her favs are Ryan's not-geeky-at-all graphic novels. This time, she went and found him and convinced the doting father to "read" her one.  He is wearing a Flash tshirt. Not planned, but perfect.

Our “office” is another name for our “laundry room.” Therefore, when I spend *just one minute* switching out loads, Philomena always manages to pull down at least two shelves of books onto the floor. Her favs are Ryan’s not-geeky-at-all graphic novels. This time, she went and found him and convinced the doting father to “read” her one.
He is wearing a Flash tshirt. Not planned, but perfect.

On this particular afternoon, she *insisted* on wearing her tutu. She proceeded to look at herself in every reflective surface in the house. This was in the midst of her dancing in front of the oven.

On this particular afternoon, she *insisted* on wearing her tutu. She proceeded to look at herself in every reflective surface in the house. This was in the midst of her dancing in front of the oven.

Beets. No filter. Most beautiful vegetable in all the land.

Beets. No filter. Most beautiful vegetable in all the land.

Philomena has gotten quite "motherly" lately. She rocks her baby dolls, gives them little pats, swaddles them. And, of course, she insists on diapering them.  She hates getting HER diaper change, but like her mother, she is full of double standards and contradictions.

Philomena has gotten quite “motherly” lately. She rocks her baby dolls, gives them little pats, swaddles them. And, of course, she insists on diapering them.
She hates getting HER diaper change, but like her mother, she is full of double standards and contradictions.

This is her preferred spot in the house. Again, like her mother, Mena has a propensity for staring off into space for long periods of time. She has found a way to do it in which it looks like our watchdog.

This is her preferred spot in the house. Again, like her mother, Mena has a propensity for staring off into space for long periods of time. She has found a way to do it in which it looks like our watchdog.

Ryan and I bought this outfit for her whilst she was still in-utero. We didn't even know we were having a girl, but my pregnancy-hormone-crazed self just INSISTED we buy it (full price even!!). I was so psyched that she finally fits in it. She was excited too. Obviously.

Ryan and I bought this outfit for her whilst she was still in-utero. We didn’t even know we were having a girl, but my pregnancy-hormone-crazed self just INSISTED we buy it (full price even!!). I was so psyched that she finally fits in it.
She was excited too. Obviously.

Drinking and cooking are two of my favorite things in the world. This time is was a cab and potstickers. This combo will definitely be a component of heaven. RIght, God? Right?

Drinking and cooking are two of my favorite things in the world. This time was a cab and potstickers. This combo will definitely be a component of heaven. Right, God? Right?

It is CSA season again, which means creative uses for random vegetables. Since my oven STILL is not fixed, I have to use extra creativity. This time is was in the form of a stovetop frittata. One of my better on-the-fly creations as of late.

It is CSA season again, which means creative uses for random vegetables. Since my oven STILL is not fixed, I have to use extra creativity. This time is was in the form of a stovetop swiss chard frittata. One of my better on-the-fly creations as of late.

Debate me if you will, but the best donuts in Wichita are undoubtedly found at The Flying Donuts. They are so fluffy and fresh! Mmmmm.... I might marry a maple frosted one, if they're still around when Ryan meets his Maker.

Debate me if you will, but the best donuts in Wichita are undoubtedly found at Flying Donuts. They are so fluffy and fresh! Mmmmm…. I might marry a maple frosted one, if they’re still around when Ryan meets his Maker.

My family had their every-other-year garage sale. My mother made me go through EVERY SINGLE box of mine in her basement. I don't want to tell you how many of those exist. Being the sentimental fool that I am, I cried through a lot of them, but thankfully my sister helped me with my detachment issues, and I purged A LOT of stuff. Freeing. So freeing.

My family had their every-other-year garage sale. My mother made me go through EVERY SINGLE box of mine in her basement. It’s embarrassing how many of those existed. The sentimental fool that I am, I cried through a lot of them, but thankfully my sister helped me with my detachment issues, and I purged A LOT of stuff. Freeing. So freeing.

My nieces and nephew are quite the entrepreneurs. I think they made $2.50.

My nieces and nephew are quite the entrepreneurs. I think they made $2.50.

Looking outside before a walk on a near-perfect Saturday morning. Sigh.

Looking outside before a walk on a near-perfect Saturday morning. Sigh.

I asked Ryan to add tortilla chips to my shopping list. He knows me too well. Way too well.

I asked Ryan to add tortilla chips to my shopping list.
He knows me too well. Way too well.

One delightful Sunday it rained quite a bit. And then the clouds parted, and we enjoyed dining al fresco on our new-to-us table.  See that beer? It is Shiner's Ruby Redbird seasonal ale. AND IT IS MAGNIFICENT. Try it.

One delightful Sunday it rained quite a bit. And then the clouds parted, and we enjoyed dining al fresco on our new-to-us table.
See that beer? It is Shiner’s Ruby Redbird seasonal ale. AND IT IS MAGNIFICENT. Try it.

My latest of Craigslist spoils is this wooden children's table. It was well-worth the months and months of trolling the site.  Philomena likes to color, but she REALLY likes to have us draw things FOR her. In all seriousness, I think I've drawn 2,348 monkeys in the past week alone.

My latest of Craigslist spoils is this wooden children’s table. It was well-worth the months and months of trolling the site.
Philomena likes to color, but she REALLY likes to have us draw things FOR her. In all seriousness, I think I’ve drawn 2,348 monkeys in the past week alone.

I have found that our little girl's naps are infinitely better when she gets outside to play. Thus, I make it happen, no matter what. This particular day, I dragged her to a terrible park in the blazing heat. However, she just toddled around the cigarette butts and burning play equipment like a pro.

I have found that our little girl’s naps are infinitely better when she gets outside to play. Thus, I make it happen every morning, no matter what. This particular day, I dragged her to a terrible park in the blistering heat. However, she just toddled around the cigarette butts and blazing play equipment like a pro.

Caprese skewers. Enough said.

Caprese skewers.
Enough said.

Bourbon and mint lemonade.  Recipe forthcoming. You will love.

Bourbon and mint lemonade.
Recipe forthcoming. You will love.

Again, I insist she plays outside in the morning...even if it's raining. She didn't seem to mind.

Again, I am the outside-play-in-the-morning enforcer…even if it’s raining.
She didn’t seem to mind.

4 thoughts on “instagram dump {day 2 of blogging challenge}

  1. Fun! I love them all. The Caprese Skewers and Lemonade were super delicious! I’m glad you convinced me to try the Lemonade. (That splash of Bourbon was just enough for this weakling)

Leave a Reply

