7 Quick Takes and Goodbye for Now (Again)

I have a major deadline approaching, and I am in serious crunch-mode, so I thought it a good idea to take an official break from the ‘ol blog again.

But, before I leave you, here are some seven tidbits for this Friday:

1. This article made me feel less terrible that I’ve wasted so much time in the evenings watching Arrested Development lately (re-watching the oldies; indulging in the new season). I know the article was only semi-serious…but really, Uncle Oscar as Father Zosima?! However, G.O.B. as Dmitry is quite spot-on.

2. My mom makes the. best. homemade doughnuts you will ever taste. They are seriously amazing. I doubt fried unicorn could taste better than these.

I’ve really been trying hard to cut out all processed sugar and to be moderate in our consumption of grains, especially wheat…but…sometimes there needs to be exceptions.

And this was a major exception. I paid for said exception with a stomachache later, but it was worth all of the caloric glory in the moment:

donuts 1

donuts 2

IMG_7032

3. I have been on a quest for a leak-free sippy cup, preferably stainless steel. I bought  one [over-priced!!] a few months ago, but for some reason Philomena couldn’t drink out of it well. Plus, it still leaked a little.

But, this Kleen Kanteen sippy…. Look!

kleen kanteen sippy

[That bottle is full of water! No drips!]

I can’t tell you how thrilled I am. And if this bottle lasts for a few years, they have all sorts of replacement nozzles for different ages and needs. I am sold. So sold.

4. Sam Adams does their seasonal brews well. And I would like to give my stamp of approval for Porch Rocker. It is lemon-y, without being too sweet. Ryan thought it a bit too fruity for his hop-obsessed palate, but I thought it was perfect for outside summer drinking [which, incidentally, is the best kind]. So there.

5. Like I said, we have been working hard to stay on the somewhat-whole-foods bandwagon lately. However, I definitely have a sweet tooth. So, we’ve been experimenting with all sorts of frozen treats that use fresh ingredients and natural sweeteners.

Chocolate mint ice cream! Strawberry frozen yogurt! Chocolate peanut butter ice cream!

Some day I hope to compile some of these recipes for you in a somewhat-coherent manner. For now, you will just have to trust me that homemade, natural ice cream can be just as good [better???] than the frozen aisle of the grocery store.

6. My husband [who needs to blog again!] is the best spouse and daddy in the entire universe. Don’t even try to argue with this fact, because you will lose.

He is going to roll his eyes and shake his head at this, but I don’t care.

I have been absolutely on high-stress mode lately. With the major deadline to fulfill in just a few weeks, almost every second he is home, I escape behind the closed door of our office/laundry room or to a frigidly-air-conditioned coffeeshop.

Ryan has been truly heroic [no exaggeration] in taking on many of the duties of home life– cooking, cleaning, laundry, toddler entertaining. And he hasn’t complained. Not once. Not even a little under-the-breath muttering [as his wife is so inclined to do on occasion all the time.]

I remember when we were pregnant, Ryan talked about how he didn’t want to be an “assistant mom” [sadly, a role in which many men are relegated], but rather a father. And unlike all of my lofty parenting goals I set during pregnancy, he has fulfilled his masterfully.

Every morning, Philomena takes my hand as we walk around the house looking for “Da Da!” We both tear up a little on the weekdays when she realizes he is nowhere to be found.

IMG_7088

7. Like Ryan, my mom, my sister, and my mother-in-law have really been picking up the slack for me lately. Almost daily someone watches Philomena for at least a few hours, so I can get some work done.

And Mena is in heaven. She loves her cousins and her grandmothers fiercely. I actually think she’ll be a little disappointed when our days don’t involve a trip over to someone else’s house. Just boring Mommy.

That’s it for now. I’ll see you sometime in late July. [Hopefully.]

Go to CD for more quick takes.

IMG_7049

14 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes and Goodbye for Now (Again)

  1. LIke Like Like Great post. I always enjoy your updates, Sarah. Your little family is adorable. Some day I would really like to meet Mina. . . and maybe your husband, too :) In other news, do you use an ice cream maker to make your homemade ice cream or just do the freeze and periodically stir method? I agree homemade ice cream is pretty amazing. We do it sometimes, too.

  2. Good luck, Sarah, we are praying for you and you know that we would be happy to help in any way. And you are blest, I love seeing you and Ryan as a married couple. Joel and I often comment on how exciting it is to see you guys together (we still can’t get over it). I can’t wait to party with you when all this is over!
    Those doughnuts look AMAZING!!! (I added another ! because I am serious).

  3. Even though I basically never comment, know that I read your blog and will miss it during your work related blogging hiatus. And hearing you brag about Ryan very much makes me realize how much Matt does the exact same thing. We are some blessed women. Also, I don’t believe I’ve ever seen Ryan wearing a t-shirt since high school spirit days. That threw me a bit. And Mena in her rain hat is super sweet :)

  4. Oh, I wish we could come whisk your cutie pie away and play with her all day while you write! The girls would love her. She is so adorable, Sarah. And your whole book project… I continue to be amazed by you!

    (and those donuts look incredible. I would have zero self-control if those were in front of me :))

  5. Fun intermission post! We’ll miss you but understand the need to buckle down and focus! I’m excited for you as you finish up this exciting and important project.
    That picture of Ryan makes him look younger – like high school Ryan almost…but wiser ;)
    I’d like one of those donuts…or two or three!
    You should join my 365 sugar challenge ;)
    well many blessings and like others said let me know if you need any help!

  6. I love your posts too! Totally understand taking a break though – especially with deadlines looming. I have no such deadlines, but have stopped blogging just to be more present to my family. And to be able to make healthy/wholesome food a priority. It’s time consuming for sure!

    I wanted to share our most favorite ice cream recipe. I can’t find it online now, but it was titled “World’s Best Ice Cream” and I thought that was a pretty bold statement, so we tried it, and truly, I think it is our family’s most favorite ice cream. It’s really simple too. I haven’t made it since this most recent “cut all white sugar/flour out of our lives” move, but I’m sure you can figure out what to replace the sugar with. We’ve decreased it from the 1.5 cups it calls for to 3/4 cups with no noticeable taste difference.

    Worlds Best Ice Cream (makes 1 Qt.)
    3/4 c. sugar
    3 c. milk (or 1.5 c. milk, 1.5 c. cream)
    1 banana, mashed
    1 orange, juiced
    1 lemon, juiced

    Whisk milk & sugar together until sugar is dissolved. Mash bananas and juice fruits in another bowl. Stir into milk mixture. Freeze as directed by your ice cream maker. Enjoy!

    If you have the time (and desire) to make it, I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

  7. Sarah, I absolutely love the last picture of Philomena! What a sweet picture and the yellow rain hat is so you!

Leave a Reply

