recipe: healthy chocolate mousse {tasty thursday}

avocado chocolate mousse

[I tried to “style” the mousse in a pretty glass. Obviously, I was very successful. The next Ansel Adams, perhaps?]

This recipe isn’t for everyone, but I adored the outcome. And Ryan liked it too.

For years I had seen vegan/raw recipes for chocolate mousse, in which the main ingredient was….

….

AVOCADOS!

Yes, indeed.

The background: Philomena isn’t a big eater. I mean, she isn’t necessarily picky, because she’ll eat whatever we put on her tray…but, she won’t eat a lot of it, you know?

Avocados are the great exception. I know I exaggerate like a thousand times every blog post, but in all seriousness, I think probably close to 90% of her caloric intake comes from avocados. At the end of most meals, if she hasn’t eaten a lot, we’ll offer her avocado. And almost without exception, she’ll eat at least half of one, sometimes more. We are totally okay with this, because as you know, avocados are full of good fats.

This fruit (yes, it’s a fruit) can be crazy expensive. However, Aldi’s often runs specials on conventional ones for such discounted prices that we totally stock up. If you buy them unripened, then refrigerate after they ripen, you can keep avocados on hand longer than you might imagine.

So, anyway, recipes for chocolate mousse with avocados are all over the internet, but I was always quite skeptical to attempt them. However, since we had a good amount of avocados on hand, I thought I’d give it a try.

The process couldn’t have been simpler! The end result was smooth, rich, and creamy. Contrary to what many of the recipes boast, I wouldn’t say this tastes exactly like normal chocolate mousse. There is definitely a different aftertaste to it, but it’s not bad. I don’t think you’d be able to “trick” someone into thinking it was the real deal (well, maybe unsuspecting kids), but as a dessert in and of itself, it is quite tasty.

And the ingredients are probably things you already have on hand:

avocado chocolate mousse ingredients

Sooo…if you’re looking to satisfy a sweet tooth, but want to stay on the healthy train, this is a great alternative!

===

Chocolate “Mousse”

[adapted from a bunch of different online recipes…]

Ingredients

2 very ripe avocados

3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

3 Tablespoons real maple syrup [although, I think any liquid sweetener would work, like honey or agave nectar]

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

two dashes of salt

chocolate chips for garnishing [totally optional]

Method

1. In a food processor [I think a blender might work too…even a hand blender], process the avocado until smooth.

2. Add the remaining ingredients. Taste. Adjust ingredients as needed. [For example, a lot of recipes I saw used a full 1/4-cup cocoa powder and sweetener, but I found that unnecessary.]

3. Put into two bowls or glasses. Garnish with optional chocolate chips.

3. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 45 minutes, preferably two hours.

[Note: This recipe is highly adaptable. I think next time I might add a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter! Or maybe garnish with berries.]

4 thoughts on “recipe: healthy chocolate mousse {tasty thursday}

  1. Oh wow. I don’t know if I’ve ever been so excited to try a new recipe!and thanks for the tip about keeping the avocados longer in the fridge. That’s one reason I don’t buy as often. Will you let me know when they are on sale at Aldi’s?

  2. That is interesting. I would never dream of using avocados with something sweet/chocolate….

    We do the same thing with avocados (ripen and then refrig), however, we’ve never had luck with the Aldi ones, they just never ripen well. SOOOO, what we do is take the Aldi ad in to Walmart market when they are sale and have them price-match. And the walmart ones are like 3 times the size of the Aldi ones too. Just FYI.

    We usually go through 5+ avocados a week around here, both boys (and us adults) LOVE them.

Leave a Reply

