100% whole wheat waffles {Tasty Thursday}

100% Whole Wheat Waffles

When I was single, I used to always say that I wanted breakfast-for-dinner at my wedding reception. Fortunately, I found a man completely amenable to the idea [I had him at “bacon”], but apparently this concept is a little tricky when it comes to parents and caterers; and so, unfortunately, we had to scrap that idea in lieu of more traditional fare. No regrets.

And yet, Ryan and I are still madly in love…with breakfast food. We talk about Sunday brunch all week: I am constantly coming up with new egg creations, and he pretty much thinks about cinnamon rolls 24/7.

Last night we had a scrumptious dinner of natural bacon, eggs with steak/spinach/gouda, and nearly-perfect WAFFLES! Instagram-ed proof:

waffle 2

This waffle recipe is my mothers [tweaked a bit by me], and it is *fantastic*. Fluffy on the inside, crispy on the outside. They are ridiculously easy, BUT you must put the batter together in advance (12 to 24 hours before you want to cook them). So, mix these up tonight to enjoy tomorrow morning.

===

Whole Wheat Waffles

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour [you could sub all-purpose]

1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon brown sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast [like, the kind for bread machines]

1 3/4 to 2 cups milk

8 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

Process

1. The night or day before: whisk together all of the dry ingredients (flours, salt, sugar, yeast). In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining wet ingredients (milk, butter, eggs, vanilla). Gently fold the wet ingredients into the dry until batter has no more dry spots. It may be a little lumpy.

2. Cover tightly and refrigerate for 12 to 24 hours.

3. Make waffles according to manufacturers directions. Serve warm with real maple syrup.

2 thoughts on “100% whole wheat waffles {Tasty Thursday}

  1. I love these. I have been known to use all whole wheat flour without any problems. I also like to beat the batter by hand a little because gluten development is actually good for yeasted waffles!

  2. Yum, look great! I’ve been wanting to try a yeast waffle recipe forever. I also have 2 big bags of pastry flour from Azure that I haven’t used because everytime I try it in a recipe it turns out badly. So, since you have tried this already I know it will be a success. :)

Leave a Reply

