the apple is far from the tree (thankfully)

[Note: you might want to grab a glass of wine to go along with all the cheese in this post. My apologies.]

I have a lot of faults. A lot.

One of the major ones is that I am not, absolutely positively, NOT a morning person. Yes, yes I know that pretty much everyone has declared that at one time or another, but I can guarantee that your distaste of getting out of bed is absolutely nothing to my pure loathing of it. To me, waking up is the worst. thing. ever. And I hate to admit it, but I am a mean, grumbly, selfish person when I first get up. As I’ve matured [ha!], it’s gotten a *little* better than in high school and college, but not much. Thankfully, I have an extremely patient husband and a baby who lets me sleep in a little and be kinda hazy while we interact in the morning.

Speaking of Philomena, she is completely the opposite. She wakes up in the morning and from naps a giggling, smiling delight. Very very rarely does she emerge from slumber crying. Usually her attitude is akin to something like this (bedhead and all):

IMG_5596

Another one of my tragic downfalls is that I am very awkward with friendly physical affection. In other words, I am not a “hug-y” person. At all. It’s not as if I am an emotional robot [quite the contrary], but I have never been one of those people to just go up to a friend and give a hug or an arm around the shoulder or a pat on the back or that weird arm-rub thing some people have mastered. More than one person has informed me that I am a “bad” hugger. It’s pretty pathetic not to have mastered a basic form of human interaction.

Philomena, on the the other hand, is sooooo incredibly affectionate. I am sure this is part of her developmental phase, but over the past few months, it has switched from us giving HER affection to her giving it to US. All of the cuddling, pats on the back, and hugs that she initiates have been one of the most beautiful stages of motherhood thus far.

The other day when I heard Mena awake from her nap, and I went upstairs to check on her, she greeted me with the most ridiculous full-face smile she could muster, accompanied by squeals of excitement. As soon as I picked her up, she immediately held me tightly, patted my shoulder, and nuzzled her head into me. She stayed this way for a solid 5 or more minutes. Every once in a while, she would lift her head to gaze at me and give me a big grin. Not going to lie, this melted my heart and brought a couple tears to my eyes.

As I was holding her (or rather she was holding me), I realized how grateful I was that she hasn’t yet modeled some of my flaws. And maybe, just maybe, she won’t. Perhaps she won’t inherit my incessant lateness, or my chronic procrastination, or my incomprehensively-fast talking, or my uncanny habit of filling up on chips and salsa before the meal comes each and every time I go to a Mexican restaurant.

However, if she does end up acquiring some of these downfalls, I pray she might have a little baby someday to teach her just how great waking up and hugs truly can be.

10 thoughts on “the apple is far from the tree (thankfully)

  1. Ah yes, physical affection is an odd one for me. It was by far my lowest rated love language. Like in the single digits and a good 10 points or more behind the next language. But I completely understand what you mean about being on the receiving end of your baby’s affection. There truly is nothing more rewarding in motherhood. Who knows, maybe you’ll get lucky and she’ll just inherit the chips and salsa vice, there are definitely worse things out there. And look at the bright side, you can’t take the chips and salsa home, but you can take the entree’ home, and then you have lunch taken care of for a couple days. Sounds pretty win/win to me (the food obsessed person that I am).

  2. means she’s getting good/enough sleep! ALWAYS a good sign! :)

    Also …. it just constantly amazes me that babies ARE love. They are just little balls of love. Brooks is just starting to show it more (open-mouthed kisses on my cheeks) …. sounds like Mena is really showing it off. *love*

  3. Philomena is an incredibly happy baby. She reminds me of Erin’s Liam when he was that age–always so jolly. It’s good she’s happy in the morning or you and her would probably have some ‘fun’ times in the morning. I hope she continues this trend when school starts. Alaina is much like Mena as far as mornings go. The only problem is she can’t understand why the rest of us are so quiet and ‘grumpy’.
    Baby is love is so…wonderful. Like Karen said.
    Marie–your comment made me laugh and reminisce.

  4. Pingback: Philomena: 19 months {day 6 of blogging challenge} | sarahunfiltered

  5. Pingback: wake-up call | sarahunfiltered

Leave a Reply

