recipe: hummus {Tasty Thursday inaugural post}

One of the main reasons I started blogging in the first place was to post my favorite recipes. However, I realized I haven’t done so in a l-o-n-g time. There are a few reasons for this:

– I am a terrible photographer, and I feel silly telling people about this delicious food and then presenting it with unappetizing photos. Ryan and I have been trying to transfer/organize all the pictures on our memory cards onto the hard drive, and I have discovered *dozens* of food pictures that never made it to the blog for one reason or another. [I think it might be funny to do a whole photo-dump post of all of this pics that never made it off the camera. That’s for another day.]

But… I’m never going to get better if I don’t keep trying.

– Most of my recipes aren’t original. I “adapt” a TON, but the majority of my cooking and baking is derived from someone else’s concept. I know that it is 100% acceptable to post other people’s recipes, with acknowledgment, and heck most of my fav food blogs take this route; and yet, for some reason I perceive it as kind of a cop-out.

But… I need to get over that.

– I haven’t really found my “style” of recipe-writing. Should I do step-by-steps like PW? Or should each of my recipes have a nice story, with just a few pics of the final product (like Foodie with Family or even Dinner: A Love Story) or should it be a combination of these two (like Smitten Kitchen)? Should I have text on the pictures, like recipegirl is wont to do? Should I focus just on whole foods, as we usually eat (like Deliciously Organic and 100 Days of Real Food), or should I post about the treats we allow ourselves now and again [that sometimes involve- gasp- white sugar and processed ingredients]?

But… the reality is that I don’t truly want to be any of these other bloggers; I only want to be myself [eyeroll]. I’m never going to discover my style, unless I just do it.

Okay, okay, now that you have had an unsolicited peek into my internal [now external?] monologue, all this was to make a point:

I am making up a series for myself called Tasty Thursday. I will post a recipe every Thursday. And I’m not going to care if the pictures are dark and blurry [or there’s none at all], or if I didn’t write the recipe myself, or if my style is inconsistent from week to week.

So there.

And, just so you are warned, I am not very good with the ‘ol “follow-through,” so you’re going to have to encourage me AND be understanding when I’ll inevitably skip a week…or three.

Alright, here goes.

Let me clear that I am aware that this isn’t 2002, so hummus is no longer an exotic treat that you can only get at your favorite Mediterranean hole-in-the-wall restaurant [I heart N&J’s 4-eva]. Thus, you probably have a favorite hummus recipe or store-bought variety that perpetually graces the shelves of your refrigerator. Yup, I know hummus is boring and cliche.

Nevertheless, I don’t care. I love it. I love to dip pita bread and veggies in it. I love to spread it on sandwiches instead of more traditional condiments. I love to make hummus/veggie/cheese wraps for my husband’s lunches. And my new hummus love is this bread I adapted and Ryan (!) made on Monday.

And I love my hummus recipe. Yes, my recipe, tried and true over the many years since its inception.

hummus

[This  particular batch is in a to-go container, instead of a pretty dish, because I made it to take to a Mama with a new baby. Because I am sure you were very concerned about this.]

===

Hummus

Ingredients

2 cups chickpeas/garbanzo beans (I like to cook my own, but canned are fine too)

2 whole cloves garlic, peeled

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 Tablespoon tahini (in a pinch, you can easily substitute peanut butter!)

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon smoked paprika (a must!), plus more for optional garnish

1/2 to 1 teaspoon salt, to taste (if you use canned chickpeas, I’d recommend less salt)

1/4 cup olive oil, plus more for optional garnish

1/8 to 1/2 cup water

a few kalamata olives, for optional garnish

Method

1. Put everything but the olives in a food processor. Begin with only an 1/8-cup water.

2. Process the mixture on high, stopping to scrape down the sides as necessary. Taste it a few times and adjust seasoning.

3. Continue to process on a high, pausing to slowly add water a tablespoon or so at a time, until desired consistency is reached. [I like mine pretty thick, so I rarely use more than a 1/4 cup of water, but I’m sure some of you might want it thinner.]

4. Scoop out and spread into a bowl. To garnish: glug a little bit of olive oil, sprinkle some smoked paprika, and place a few olives on top.

[IMPORTANT UPDATE: I realized when I originally posted this recipe, I forgot the secret to smooth hummus: warm chickpeas. If you cook your own, just make sure to process them before they cool down. Or if you use canned, just heat them up for a minute or so before processing. You’re welcome.]

8 thoughts on “recipe: hummus {Tasty Thursday inaugural post}

  1. love! It’s sometimes scary how much we r alike, especially in our thought processes.i realllyyyyy like your hummus. I’ve been wanting to try making my own, I’ll try yours with a different oil. Thanks for sharing, I’m excited to see more of your recipes!

  2. Sounds good! I would like to try this recipe, but I am needing to take the next step into cooking called, “buying a food processor.” So are there certain models your recommend or do not recommend?

    • You could totally do this in a blender. It might require a little more water, but it should work.
      Honestly, I don’t have a fancy food processor. It is a dual blender/processor that we got for the wedding. It’s small, but it seems to work well for us.

  3. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes | sarahunfiltered

  4. Hummus (or hondees, as Kolbe calls it) is a fave around here. Am I dumb for not knowing what smoked paprika is? We usually just use regular. And I’ve never tried cumin in hummus, but taht sounds really good. Sometimes we garnish ours with OO and cracked pepper, and while not traditional hummus fare it is pretty darn tasty that way.

    We typically use canned beans that we drain and instead of water we use the bean juice to thin it.

    Mary we just have a mini food processor we got as a wedding gift and it’s gotten soooooo much mileage. Cuisinart is a good brand.

    • Oh, smoked paprika is SO yummy. Seriously. I use it in a few soups and such, and it is fabulous on popcorn. I think it’s just a tad pricier than basic paprika, but you don’t use much of it very often, that I think it’s a worthy part of my spice rack. A little goes a long way.

  5. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes, featuring middle school Sarah | sarahunfiltered

  6. Pingback: meal plan: weeks of Jan 5-12; Jan 13-19 | sarahunfiltered

Leave a Reply

