grateful {and a link-up- “what I wore on Thanksgiving”}

Not to get all sappy on you, but my heart is truly bursting with gratitude this morning. I wish I would have been like all the cool, more thoughtful people on Facebook who did the 30 days of thankfulness, but the reality is that every single day I wake up and go to bed thanking the Lord for all the blessings in my life. Even though I can be all complain-y sometimes, deep-down I know that I am seriously fortunate.

I really think that this morning was a snapshot of the joy of my life: the ultimate Thanksgiving, Mass, followed by an awkward photo shoot in our driveway, then strong coffee while baking up a storm, whilst baby napped and my patient husband painted our front door [I’ll leave you in anticipation of the color.] I even wore my “fancy” apron. Norman Rockwell, come paint us [but ignore the dishes in the sink…and on the counter…and on the floor].

In all seriousness, I am blessed with an extraordinary family [not just Ryan and Philomena, but also my parents, sister, parents-in-law, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, nieces, nephew, aunts, uncles…], a faith that gives meaning to our life, genuine friendships, a home in which to nurture our domestic church, a hard-working husband who gives me the opportunity to stay home with the baby, the gift of my education and the ability to keep teaching a little.

Lastly, but probably not most importantly, I’m thankful for blogging link-ups, especially those that force me out of my comfort zone. Thanks for the nudge, Grace.

Here is what I wore on Thanksgiving:

[I was very original with my scarf/tights/boots combo. I bet you’ve never seen that before on a blog.]

cardigan, tights, scarf, boots- Target

dress and belt- Gap [Most of my dresses have been retired, because of the nursing situation, but this one thankfully has buttons down the front. Buttons and v-necks for the nursing attire win.] 

snot on shoulder- teething baby

windblown hair- Kansas meteorological annoyance

weird facial expression- only for you, dear readers

Have a beautiful holiday! Love, us.

15 thoughts on “grateful {and a link-up- “what I wore on Thanksgiving”}

  1. awww, you guys look so snazzy. i predict yellow for the front door. but i’ll be seriously pouty if it is in fact yellow because i’ve been wanting to paint ours yellow but have to wait until i can paint the rest of the house. anxious to see. happy thanksgiving!

  2. Cute, as usual. I think I’m going to take fashion class from you. I was wondering how you were doing that with the nursing thing. Do you just pull down and use a cover? I used to hate using covers but Luke doesn’t seem to mind (yet) and I’m learning it’s easier to pull down (if possible) with a cover (I don’t like showing off my whole breast). Anyway, so I’m thinking I could use dresses if I can figure this out somehow b/c I miss dresses.
    i’m going to guess a color in the red family, even though I know you love yellow.
    I also have been wanting to repaint our front door since…4 years ago. Maybe this year. :) You are very inspirational/motivational in the painting department here lately.
    p.s. Happy Thanksgiving.
    p.p.s I was going to do a grateful post today and I thought that’s what you meant by the Link up. If I do get to it I hope you don’t think I’m just a terrible unoriginal copy-cat. ;)

Leave a Reply

