deeply important [not really] updates

I’ve been meaning to write about the non-stop, action-packed thrills here in the land of board books, scooting, and vegetables, so I was going to jump on the 7 Quick Takes bandwagon yesterday, but I decided to go shopping instead. This was clearly a mistake, as the picture below will show.

I actually bought that atrocity to wear to a wedding (!), but thankfully the instagram community knocked some sense into me. I shall return it today. [Actually, it will probably stay on my bedroom floor for another 3 to 4 weeks until I can muster the will to leave the house.] Do you ever have a difficult time deciding whether something is superbly cute or just plain ugly? For me, it’s actually a fine line that I traipse on a regular basis; really, I can go either way on any given day.

[UPDATE: I’m not totally crazy for buying that skirt. See here. It’s kind of the same style. Right?]

Because all of you care deeply about my life, here are some updates:

a. On the 4th of July, Philomena decided to declare her own independence by sitting up all by herself for the first time. Actually, she’s been pretty much doing it for a while now, but always required something to keep her balance, but amidst the potato salad and fireworks, she suddenly could do it on her own.

b. My sister calls this the “golden age” of babies, because they can sit up (which really is more fun- not sure why), but don’t crawl yet. However, you wouldn’t know this from her extraordinary ability to be mobile via scooting/rolling. [Excuse the heinous drool in the picture below. We are raising a Saint Bernard.]

c. To add to the facts-no-one-cares-about-but-my-mother-who-doesn’t-even-read-this-blog, Mena is obsessed with paper. She’ll have a myriad of toys and books and blankets surrounding her, but somehow she’ll see the little slip of a receipt across the room and wiggle her way to it at an oddly fast pace and will put it in her mouth, then I’ll have to fish out the little limp specs of saliva-laden grossness. [This step particularly annoys me, because I have this weird aversion to baby gums.] Her love of paper is surpassed only by her love of adult toes. [I might just get desperate enough one day to wrap my toes in paper just to see what will happen. I lead an exciting life.] The picture below shows books about to be mined for their paper resources. It also reveals our low-brow reading selections as of late, along with the fact we don’t dress our daughter all-too-often.

d. My husband is making me watch all the Batman movies since 1989, in anticipation of The Dark Knight Rises opening next Friday. The movies are all very long and full of weird people. That’s my assessment. Ryan is giving a more intelligent analysis over on his blog. Since he started this Batman “series” he has been getting all sorts of hits from the most random of countries like Algeria, Pakistan, the Philippines, the Netherlands, and South Africa. [I guess there are nerds all over the world.] The only foreign countries that show up for me are Canada [hi, Kathryn!] and Belize [hi, Cathleen!].

e. To assuage the pain of watching the worst movie ever made, Batman & Robin [I think even Ryan might agree with that description], I made these chocolate zucchini cookies. So. Very. Good. I used all whole wheat pastry flour and honey instead of agave nectar. [Although I love me some agave, we are currently out of it. I am eagerly awaiting the next Azure delivery.] We paired the cookies with one of the homebrews my husband and brother-in-law created- berry wheat.

f. After our highly successful first attempt at getting Philomena into the pool, I tried again this week. This time at least she didn’t scream out in fear. Score.

g. So, we finally actually contacted a real estate agent to begin this house-searching process officially. We’ve been putting it off, mostly because our rent is ridiculously cheap. Also, it’s much more fun to dream-search online, as opposed to the reality of the situation. However, with a mobile baby our teeny place is starting to feel the size of a dollhouse. Not to mention the fact I had to call 911 three times about illegal, loud, very late-night fireworks from our conscientious neighbors. [St. Joseph, pray for us.]

h. The whole time I’ve been typing this, Ryan has been trying to get a cranky Philomena to sleep. I give him sympathetic glances, but then continue to type. I’m a loving wife and mother like that.

i. Enjoy your weekends! Stay cool. Or not, if you like this heat from the pits of ghenna.

[I’m going to tag this post with “batman” to see if I can get some statistics action from the Middle East and Africa too. Our marriage really is a blog competition.]

7 thoughts on “deeply important [not really] updates

  1. I’ll give you a blog hit from the west side of town, how’s that for upping the blog competition? And Mena is truly too adorable for words. I do believe in the piano playing Saint Bernard picture she is displaying your gift for expression through eyebrow movement.

  2. H – I totally do that, too. Daddies need some cranky baby experience, if only to let them think we’re that much more awesome for wrangling baby in their absence. ;)

  3. can you feel my jealousy through the screen? We looked at a few open houses in Wichita before we moved for fun — loved. St. Louis is terrible and triple the price. Wichita for the win. (original)

    I think Mena and Basher should have a sit-off or maybe a drool-off — which would be less boring?

Leave a Reply

