a week of CSA in pictures: vol. 1

One of my intentions of this blog was to do a weekly feature, in which I described how we used our CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) share. We are very blessed this year to have amazing, organic produce from Fiat Farm, owned by friends-of-friends, and I wanted to show how we used all these yummy (yet sometimes obscure) veggies.

However, I soon realized that this brilliant plan was sneakily similar to my weekly meal plans, so I 86-ed that idea.

Anyway…I thought I’d still give you a glimpse of our produce usage through [very poorly taken] pictures.

Monday: caprese salad, featuring yellow tomatoes and a simple bean soup featuring kale, swiss chard, and onions (along with some juliet tomatoes from our garden)

Tuesday: bulgar and feta stuffed yellow summer squash with red onionsgreen beans, sauteed with garlic and red pepper flakes

Friday: whole wheat spaghetti with fresh tomatoes and basil; sauteed zucchini and summer squash with garlic. [I took this picture halfway through the meal. We had my parents over, and when I realized I hadn’t yet captured this dinner, I shot out of my seat and proceeded to snap a picture. I tried to explain it was for my blog, but I still don’t think they understood, even though my dad has made two prominent appearances here. And I totally meant to include the lovely power cords in the background.]

Saturday: sauteed chicken breast (seasoned with a garam masala blend) with rice, topped with braised radishes. [I happen to love raw radishes, but I know they can have too strong of flavor for some people. I’d never attempted cooking them before, but wow, oh wow, these were simply delicious. The flavor had totally mellowed into something delectable.]

So, there you go. I titled this post “vol. 1” with the grand intention of doing this photo series again sometime. We’ll see if that actually happens.

4 thoughts on “a week of CSA in pictures: vol. 1

  1. Gosh is your header photo ever cute! I need to give the cooked radish thing another try. I wasn’t terribly successful on my first go round.

  2. Pingback: deeply important [not really] updates | sarahunfiltered

Leave a Reply

