recipe: guacamole

Until yesterday, I didn’t have a recipe for guacamole. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve made it on countless occasions; in fact, I think it’s one of the better dishes up my sleeve. However, I never put my method to paper. I just tasted and adjusted accordingly. And really, that’s the best way.

But yesterday, because I love all of you so much, I decided to actually record the amount of seasonings and ingredients. The recipe really isn’t anything too earth-shattering, and it’s probably not authentic in the least bit. And yet, we enjoy it. You might too.

Before I jump into the actual recipe, I thought I’d offer three very trivial hints to making guacamole. They’re no biggie, but have helped me along in the process over the years.

For years, I tried mashing the avocados in a bowl with a fork. It was always messy and quite trying. Being the flake that I am, it never occurred to me until recently to do anything differently. The potato masher/casserole dish situation has changed my avocado life forever. [Yes, this is a kind of stupid hint, but there are some of us who need all the help we can get.]

I have no clue if chipotle powder is “supposed” to go in guac, but I put it in there. And it’s fabulous. Smoky, intense. [Like me.]

Alright, alright this is even a more stupidly obvious hint, but again, for all of my guacamole-making existence, I’d try to mix the onions, tomatoes, and spices all at the same time, and the spices were never distributed evenly. So, now I don’t do it that way. [I know the lighting in this picture is pretty heinous, but my husband, who is the photog of the family, was graciously at the store buying tomatoes for this very recipe. So, I couldn’t have him adjust those foreign things like “aperature” and “shutter speed.” Someday, oh someday, I will actually read the manual for our camera. Maybe.]

Aaaaaaand, here’s the finished product in all it’s glory:

====

Guacamole

[Note: I was bringing this to a social gathering, so it makes quite a bit. Please feel free to adjust accordingly. Because you definitely needed my permission to do so.]

Ingredients

5 ripe hass avocados [An avocado is perfect when it is brown-ish green, and your fingers can make a slight indent when you press on it.]

1 1/2 Tablespoons lime juice

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon chipotle powder

2-3 dashes cayenne pepper

1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon salt [I prefer Celtic gray sea salt. I’m fancy like that.]

2 to 3 Roma tomatoes, diced

1/2 to 1 onion, diced [I like my guac very onion-y, so I used a whole one. It was probably way too much for most people. My apologies to my friends who endured this round of guacamole.]

Method

Cut avocados in half, take out the pits, and scoop out the flesh. Mash the avocados. [Use a potato masher in a casserole dish, if you want to be like all the cool kids.]

Add the lime juice and all the spices. Mix well. Taste. Adjust seasonings.

Mix in the tomatoes and onion. Serve with tortilla chips.

====

What’s that you say? I haven’t posted a vintage-effected picture of Philomena in a while? Well, if you insist.

3 thoughts on “recipe: guacamole

  1. I want this RIGHT NOW!
    Thanks for posting this. I’m like you and have just played around with new “recipes” each time. I’ve never made it with real chunks of onion and tomato–yum! Where do you get your chipotle powder? I wonder if I could use it to make chipotle mayonnaise?

    • I got the chipotle powder from Penzey’s spices. We don’t have any of the stores in Wichita (boo!), but I think Chipotle powder can be found in most grocery stores. And, yes, it makes excellent chipotle ranch.

  2. Pingback: recipe: chicken nachos {tasty thursday} | sarahunfiltered

Leave a Reply

