recipe: key lime pie

Alright, enough of that “blogging about blogging” nonsense. Let’s jump right in with a recipe.

For an inaugural recipe, I will admit this one is kind of lame. Not because the dessert isn’t good [it’s yummy!], rather because not only did I not actually write this recipe, but I didn’t even find it myself. I give that credit to my sister, who pointed me in its direction years ago. [I can see you shaking your head in disapproval. That’s okay; I can take it.]

Around our house, we try to keep our food as real and unprocessed as possible, which includes limiting things like white sugar. Undoubtedly, this dessert is laden with such no-no ingredients. However, we like our treats once in a while. And this one was well-deserved.

You see, my hardworking husband, in addition to working full-time, decided to go back to school this year to get another degree. It’s going to be a long road, but sometimes the hardest part of a journey is just starting it. [Yeah, that was really deep, I know. Please feel free to use that quote on my wiki page, when I become famous for such wisdom.] His last final of the year was on Wednesday, so I told him I’d make him any dessert he wanted in celebration.

He chose key lime pie.

This recipe is great, because it’s simple, but really delicious. I usually keep all the ingredients on hand during the summer months, because it makes an excellent throw-together dessert for potlucks and the like.

====

Key Lime Pie 

Source: The Food Network, original recipe link found here

Ingredients

Crust
  • 1/3 of a 1-pound box graham crackers
  • 5 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
Filling
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 teaspoons lime zest
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2/3 cup freshly squeezed Key lime juice, or store bought [My sister, aka Martha Stewart incarnate, squeezes fresh lime juice, which is awesome. But, I use Nellie and Joe’s bottled juice (found at any grocery store), and I think it’s equally as awesome. Well, more so, because you don’t have to spend all that time squeezing limes.]
Method
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Break up the graham crackers; place in a food processor and process to crumbs. If you don’t have a food processor, place the crackers in a large plastic bag; seal and then crush the crackers with a rolling pin. Add the melted butter and sugar and pulse or stir until combined. Press the mixture into the bottom and side of a pie pan, forming a neat border around the edge. Bake the crust until set and golden, 8 minutes. Set aside on a wire rack; leave the oven on.

Meanwhile, in an electric mixer with the wire whisk attachment, beat the egg yolks and lime zest at high speed until very fluffy, about 5 minutes. Gradually add the condensed milk and continue to beat until thick, 3 or 4 minutes longer. Lower the mixer speed and slowly add the lime juice, mixing just until combined, no longer. Pour the mixture into the crust. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the filling has just set. Cool on a wire rack, then refrigerate. Freeze for 15 to 20 minutes before serving.

====

 In honor of Daddy’s special day, Batgirl made an appearance:
 
p.s. My husband is having a “caption non-contest” over on his blog. It features a picture taken the evening of the aforementioned pie.
5 thoughts on “recipe: key lime pie

  1. Isn’t there a story where you took this pie to a party and no one ate it because you had cut it into pieces of all different sizes?

    Seriously though, it looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

