meal plan: week of Jan. 28

Before I get into this week’s plan, I thought I’d review some of the new recipe’s I tried last week:

Slow cooker Asian Beef and Broccoli: Both were very good. Simple. Easy. Satisfying. I think the beef might be a good thing to bring to families with new babies, perhaps with less spice (although it wasn’t too spicy at all, but I hear kids can be picky about such things). I am going to file this away, because I currently know approximately 1,268 pregnant women.

Chickpea Curry: Wow! Ryan and I were both surprised at how much we liked this *very simple* and cheap dish, although I did get all “allrecipes” with this and made some adjustments: added minced garlic and fresh ginger to the sauteed onions; tripled the garam masala; served it over whole wheat couscous instead of rice

Quinoa Spinach Mac ‘n Cheese: This was good, but not stellar. We’ll probably make it again, though.

Sherried Tomato Soup: VERY good. VERY easy. Note: it makes a ton. I halved the recipe, and we were still eating leftovers for a few days. Related, it re-heats superbly. This will be our new go-to tomato bisque.

Butternut and Squash Pasta: YUMMMMMMMMMMM!!! Adjustments we made: no walnuts, whole wheat shells instead of orecchiette. I made a special trip to Yoder Meats to get some sundried tomato chicken sausage, but they were all out, so I substituted their mozzarella sausage, which was okay, but I think it would be better with a different type. Ugh, and when I got home I saw that Yoder Meats’ sausage had MSG and nitrates. So much for paying a little extra for “local” and higher quality.

Alright, onto this week:

Monday- chili and cornbread with a salad [Teasing me, Ryan said, "aren't you going to make homemade Fritos?" Eyeroll.]

Tuesday- family dinner

Wednesday- breakfast-for-dinner, featuring waffles and some sort of egg thing

Thursday- lentil loaf and broccoli. I use a recipe similar to this, but with homemade ketchup.

Friday- bean and rice burritos, some sort of veggie on the side

 

4 thoughts on “meal plan: week of Jan. 28

  1. I’ve been in search of an MSG free Italian Sausage (ground).

    I am intrigued by the homemade ketchup.

    If you’re looking for something more specific for your “some sort of egg thing” you should try chile rellenos.

    And because I am too lazy to go over to your other post, I want you to know I’ve been thinking of you a lot and praying for you.

Leave a Reply

