providence in duct tape and carpenter jeans

It is my full intention to chronicle my husband’s and my “story” on this blog sometime for posterity. Whenever anyone asks how we met, I always begin with something like, “well, Ryan and I were kind-of, barely acquaintances in high school, but really the only thing I remember about him was that he had a duct-tape blazer. Then, we re-met about 9 years later….”

And so, it was to my complete surprise when a mutual friend mentioned she had a picture of us together from high school. Not just any picture, but one of us hugging. This was confounding to me, because I have never ever been a big “hugger,” and I certainly have no recollection whatsoever of bestowing one upon that tall-and-skinny guy adorned in duct tape.

But, apparently I did:

Weird, eh? This is just more evidence of the string of God’s providence woven within our lives. And further proof that we might not always see His plan in the present, but boy, oh boy He has one. “For I know well the plans I have in mind for you … plans for your welfare and not for woe, so as to give you a future of hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 [Yup, a future of hope. And marriage. And a baby.]

[On a sidenote of vanity- um, check out my outfit. Those jeans. That purse. The hair. Ryan is cringing for good reason.]

The husband also reacted to said picture via blog-ness.

4 thoughts on “providence in duct tape and carpenter jeans

  1. Pingback: A Lost Connection « ryanunfiltered

  2. Wow! How funny is that! What a treasure to have that pic. I must admit the hug was very out of character for you…..primal attraction?

  3. Pingback: 7 Quick (?) Takes | sarahunfiltered

Leave a comment