DIY: hand soap/body wash

I guess I lied about not doing any do-it-yourself posts. However, this one almost doesn’t count, because it’s soooo incredibly easy.

Essentially, this is a way to take one bar of soap and stretch it by liquifying it into hand soap or body wash. It’s especially good for those of us who are trying [and failing often] to be a little more natural in our beauty routines. Many organic or all-natural products are just plain expensive. I’ve found a way to make decently-priced natural foaming hand soap, but when I saw this tutorial for body wash, I just had to try it.

Instead of typing out the whole process, I’ll link to the original tutorial on Foodie with Family [one of my fav food blogs].

A few personal notes about the method:

- After the concoction sat overnight, it still looked clear and not really “congealed,” so I put it in the fridge for a few hours, then it was perfect. I think next time I am going to just refrigerate it overnight.

- I don’t have an egg beater, so I used an electric hand mixer on the lowest setting. Worked like a charm.

- I’d recommend having someone else hold the funnel for you as you pour it into the jug. I had an unsteady hand, and half of it ended down the sink. Oops. So much for frugality.

Here are some pictures documenting a few steps of the process. Again, please click on the link for the full method.

All you need is a bar of castile soap (I used Dr. Bronner’s in lavender), box grater, vegetable glycerin (I bought a way-too-big bottle of it), and a gallon of distilled water (not pictured, because I’m a flake).

After grating the soap:

After it sat in refrigerator:

My helper:

[So, I probably should have taken a picture of the finished product…but, I didn’t. Sorry, folks. I’m still new at this blogging thing.]

3 thoughts on “DIY: hand soap/body wash

Leave a Reply

